A Music Note

Someday I’ll think of better puns than this.

Just like I can’t think of good puns, I can’t think of one single person I know who doesn’t like music.  Everyone loves music.  It’s the universal language and there’s literally something for everyone.  Out of habit, I tend to stick with the same few genres, but my taste has expanded since I’ve started college and met several people with very different tastes than mine.  Here’s a glimpse of what I listen to on a regular basis.

First, here are a few songs the boyfriend has introduced me to.  These are songs I never, ever would have listened to if I hadn’t heard them playing on his Spotify first.

Being a flute player, I enjoy listening to classical on occasion.  This piece (album) is a classic I love (and that my friends love to hate).  It’s been a favorite since I learned to play “The Swan.”  If you’re not familiar with the piece, every movement (ie, song on the album) represents an animal, and it’s a lot of fun to visualize while listening.

Finally, here are a few of my tried-and-true favorites, mostly country songs I found and grew to love all on my own.  (And by “on my own,” I mean I was forcibly introduced to country because that was all they listened to when I worked at my local zoo at age 14.)

I read a statistic the other day that said most people stop discovering new music around their mid-twenties or early thirties, and just continue to listen to the songs that were their favorites up until that age.  I’m already starting to see that for myself — I don’t really have the time or motivation to browse through new music.  I have other things to do.  But even though I don’t find as much new music as I used to, music is still a huge part of my life and something I extremely enjoy.

What's your opinion?

